Millisecond Forums

Line spacing

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic14675.aspx

By Jacek - 10/20/2014

Hi,

In my experiment I am using a survey page with radiobuttons. As the participants will be touching the screen I need to put some extra space between the lines (options). I know that I can manipulate with font height but is there a way to manipulate the line spacing in radiobuttons? I couldn't find anything on the forum.
Cheers,
Jacek
By Dave - 10/20/2014

You would use special characters (see the documentation topic of the same name for details), to insert line breaks within the options in order to space them out:

<surveypage mypage>
/ questions = [1=myradiobuttons]
</surveypage>

<radiobuttons myradiobuttons>
/ options = ("~nA~n", "~nB~n", "~nC~n")
</radiobuttons>

By Jacek - 10/20/2014

Thanks Dave,

It works very well.

Cheers,
Jacek
By Jacek - 10/22/2014

Well, almost fine.
The spacing is OK, but I just realized that it does not record my answers. I tried different options but it still does not recognize my answers. Any idea?
example below

<radiobuttons profw1>
/ options = ("Writer~n", "Scientist~n", "Royalty~n", "Singer~n")
/ correctresponse = ("Writer")
/ responsefontstyle = ("Verdana", -30, true, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ position = (70, 50)
/ validresponse = ("Writer", "Scientist", "Royalty", "Singer")
/ required = false
</radiobuttons>

By Dave - 10/22/2014

Remove both /validresponse and /correctresponse from the element.
By Jacek - 10/22/2014

But in that case I will not know whether the participant correctly recognized a person on the picture.
By Dave - 10/22/2014

If you need that, the proper way to set this up is:

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1=mypage]
</block>

<surveypage mypage>
/ questions = [1=profw1]
</surveypage>

<radiobuttons profw1>
/ options = ("Writer~n", "Scientist~n", "Royalty~n", "Singer~n")
/ optionvalues = ("Writer", "Scientist", "Royalty", "Singer")
/ validresponse = (anyresponse)
/ correctresponse = ("Writer")

/ responsefontstyle = ("Verdana", -30, true, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ position = (70, 50)
/ required = false
</radiobuttons>
By Jacek - 10/23/2014

Thanks again Dave. It was not an obvious solution and it works perfectly.
Best,
Jacek