Millisecond Forums

Need for Help! Unable to load the pictures :( macOS High Sierra

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic23010.aspx

By qba2192 - 12/4/2017

Hi, 

I need urgent help on an issue that I have with loading pictures in my experiment. The problem seems to be with coding that I've put in.

Screenshot #1 shows coding from my friends experiment and it works perfectly fine (it was coded for Windows version of Inquisit 4). It's the one where it shows: "C:Users/Maria/Desktop...

Screenshot #2 shows my incompetent way of coding and as a result of that I get s*** load of errors ^^.

I need guidance on how to code it correctly so that my Inquisit 5 on macOS knows where to look for specific pictures. As you can see I've tried it different ways and it shows errors anyways.
My question is, whether I have to code all of them correctly for the experiment to run properly, and if so, what would the right code be?

I need solution for this quite presto as it is crucial in my major thesis, so if anyone has an idea how to make it work I'd be enormously grateful ;) 



By Dave - 12/4/2017

qba2192 - Monday, December 4, 2017
Hi, 

I need urgent help on an issue that I have with loading pictures in my experiment. The problem seems to be with coding that I've put in.

Screenshot #1 shows coding from my friends experiment and it works perfectly fine (it was coded for Windows version of Inquisit 4). It's the one where it shows: "C:Users/Maria/Desktop...

Screenshot #2 shows my incompetent way of coding and as a result of that I get s*** load of errors ^^.

I need guidance on how to code it correctly so that my Inquisit 5 on macOS knows where to look for specific pictures. As you can see I've tried it different ways and it shows errors anyways.
My question is, whether I have to code all of them correctly for the experiment to run properly, and if so, what would the right code be?

I need solution for this quite presto as it is crucial in my major thesis, so if anyone has an idea how to make it work I'd be enormously grateful ;) 




The easiest and -- importantly -- fail-safe solution is to simply put the picture files in the same directory / folder where your script resides. Then you do not need to include any path information in your <item> elements, you can simply say:

<item example>
/ 1 = "example01.jpg"
/ 2 = "example02.jpg"
...
</item>

This will work under both Windows and OSX, so you should not run into any problems when switching between platforms.


By qba2192 - 12/4/2017

Dave - Monday, December 4, 2017
qba2192 - Monday, December 4, 2017
Hi, 

I need urgent help on an issue that I have with loading pictures in my experiment. The problem seems to be with coding that I've put in.

Screenshot #1 shows coding from my friends experiment and it works perfectly fine (it was coded for Windows version of Inquisit 4). It's the one where it shows: "C:Users/Maria/Desktop...

Screenshot #2 shows my incompetent way of coding and as a result of that I get s*** load of errors ^^.

I need guidance on how to code it correctly so that my Inquisit 5 on macOS knows where to look for specific pictures. As you can see I've tried it different ways and it shows errors anyways.
My question is, whether I have to code all of them correctly for the experiment to run properly, and if so, what would the right code be?

I need solution for this quite presto as it is crucial in my major thesis, so if anyone has an idea how to make it work I'd be enormously grateful ;) 




The easiest and -- importantly -- fail-safe solution is to simply put the picture files in the same directory / folder where your script resides. Then you do not need to include any path information in your <item> elements, you can simply say:

<item example>
/ 1 = "example01.jpg"
/ 2 = "example02.jpg"
...
</item>

This will work under both Windows and OSX, so you should not run into any problems when switching between platforms.



Thank you very much for the support. I followed your advice and it works ;) 
Appreciate the quick response ;)