Millisecond Forums

Interpreting data for IAT test

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic2312.aspx

By stingystooge - 11/30/2008

Hello,

I am a student running an IAT test for a Intro Psych class. In other words, I
have no experience in IAT tests. I just had a subject take a test and I have a
.dat file, but I have no idea how to read/interpret the data.

The columns of data are as follows from left to right:

date      

time     

subject

blockcode         

blocknum      

trialcode          

trialnum          

response     

correct

latency         

stimulusnumber1  

stimulusitem1

expressions.da

expressions.db

expressions.d

I have
taken basic stats so I do know how to run basic z tests.

Please
help! I'm in way over my head.

By stingystooge - 11/30/2008

I have no idea why there is the paragraph of random words above my post. I don't know how to get rid of it either. sorry! just start from the "Hello"
By stephonomon - 12/2/2008

You'll need to score the file using SPSS.

Here is the syntax
http://www.millisecond.com/download/samples/v3/IAT/IAT.sps

For more information go here:
http://www.millisecond.com/download/samples/v3/IAT/default.aspx

Stephon
By seandr - 12/5/2008

Note that the column "expressions.d" contains the Cohen's D score that indicates the direction and magnitude of the association. Inquisit keeps a running tally of this score for each trial. The last row of data for each participant therefore has the final score for that participant.

So, you could just take the last row of data for each particpant and get the value of expressions.d to get each participant's score.

-Sean

By Kaarinen - 7/30/2009

Hi,

Just one clarification. Isn't the D score the IAT score which is similar to Cohen's d but not the same thing? Most studies using the IAT report both the D score and Cohen's d. Or am I just confusing things :)?

Best,

Kaarinen

By Admin - 7/31/2009