By elise_warner - 11/3/2020
Hi there,
I am new to Inquisit (and programming in general). I am having difficulty getting my pictures to run. The first picture in each series of pictures (PracticeTargets) will run (and each time I run through the task it selects one randomly, so it's recognizing all of the images), but it only shows one image. Then it will go to the second set of images (testTarget) and shows one picture randomly from that set, and that's it. I imagine this is some small technical error. Could someone please look at this code and tell me where I goofed up? Thank you in advance!
<item practiceTargets> /1="2095.jpg" /2="2811.jpg" /3="3500.jpg" /4="6212.jpg" /5="9560.jpg" </item>
<item testTarget> /1 = "3266.jpg" /2 = "3230.jpg" </item>
<picture practiceTargets> /items = PracticeTargets /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture>
<picture testTarget> /items = testTarget /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture>
|
By Dave - 11/3/2020
+xHi there, I am new to Inquisit (and programming in general). I am having difficulty getting my pictures to run. The first picture in each series of pictures (PracticeTargets) will run (and each time I run through the task it selects one randomly, so it's recognizing all of the images), but it only shows one image. Then it will go to the second set of images (testTarget) and shows one picture randomly from that set, and that's it. I imagine this is some small technical error. Could someone please look at this code and tell me where I goofed up? Thank you in advance! <item practiceTargets> /1="2095.jpg" /2="2811.jpg" /3="3500.jpg" /4="6212.jpg" /5="9560.jpg" </item> <item testTarget> /1 = "3266.jpg" /2 = "3230.jpg" </item> <picture practiceTargets> /items = PracticeTargets /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture> <picture testTarget> /items = testTarget /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture> Those are just <picture> elements, they do nothing in and of itself. At a minimum, you need a <trial> element that displays the <picture> and a <block> that runs X instances of such a <trial>. I.e.
<item practiceTargets> /1="2095.jpg" /2="2811.jpg" /3="3500.jpg" /4="6212.jpg" /5="9560.jpg" </item>
<picture practiceTargets> /items = PracticeTargets /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture>
<trial practicetrial> / stimulusframes = [1=practiceTargets] / validresponse = (57) </trial>
<block practiceblock> / trials = [1-5 = practicetrial] </block>
You'll find basics like that covered in the tutorials: https://www.millisecond.com/support/docs/v6/html/tutorials/tutorials.htm
|
By elise_warner - 11/3/2020
+x+xHi there, I am new to Inquisit (and programming in general). I am having difficulty getting my pictures to run. The first picture in each series of pictures (PracticeTargets) will run (and each time I run through the task it selects one randomly, so it's recognizing all of the images), but it only shows one image. Then it will go to the second set of images (testTarget) and shows one picture randomly from that set, and that's it. I imagine this is some small technical error. Could someone please look at this code and tell me where I goofed up? Thank you in advance! <item practiceTargets> /1="2095.jpg" /2="2811.jpg" /3="3500.jpg" /4="6212.jpg" /5="9560.jpg" </item> <item testTarget> /1 = "3266.jpg" /2 = "3230.jpg" </item> <picture practiceTargets> /items = PracticeTargets /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture> <picture testTarget> /items = testTarget /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture> Those are just <picture> elements, they do nothing in and of itself. At a minimum, you need a <trial> element that displays the <picture> and a <block> that runs X instances of such a <trial>. I.e. <item practiceTargets> /1="2095.jpg" /2="2811.jpg" /3="3500.jpg" /4="6212.jpg" /5="9560.jpg" </item> <picture practiceTargets> /items = PracticeTargets /select = sequence /size = (80%, 80%) </picture> <trial practicetrial> / stimulusframes = [1=practiceTargets] / validresponse = (57) </trial> <block practiceblock> / trials = [1-5 = practicetrial] </block> You'll find basics like that covered in the tutorials: https://www.millisecond.com/support/docs/v6/html/tutorials/tutorials.htm Thanks so much for the quick response, Dave. I should have included my code for the trials and block in there. Looking at the way you created the block helped tremendously. I realized I didn't put "1-5," but just "1" for the stimulus frames, so that fixed it. Thanks again.
|
|