Millisecond Forums

Removing Training Blocks from Software Coding

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic34724.aspx

By nataliejabuka - 9/11/2022

Hi, 

I am using Inquisit 6 and the task Mathematical Processing Task.

I want to remove the training intro, training blocks and training trial from the coding. Is there a way to remove the practice/ training and have the task remain on its own?

Thank you.
By Dave - 9/12/2022

nataliejabuka - 9/12/2022
Hi, 

I am using Inquisit 6 and the task Mathematical Processing Task.

I want to remove the training intro, training blocks and training trial from the coding. Is there a way to remove the practice/ training and have the task remain on its own?

Thank you.

There is no need to remove these things. You simply ought to not run them. To do so, you can simply change the <expt> elements from

<expt low>
/groups = (1 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =lowdemandintro]
</expt>

<expt moderate>
/groups = (2 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =moderatedemandintro]
</expt>

<expt high>
/groups = (3 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =highdemandintro]
</expt>

to

<expt low>
/groups = (1 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =lowdemand]
</expt>

<expt moderate>
/groups = (2 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =moderatedemand]
</expt>

<expt high>
/groups = (3 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =highdemand]
</expt>

which will not run any intro or training blocks.
By nataliejabuka - 9/13/2022

Dave - 9/12/2022
nataliejabuka - 9/12/2022
Hi, 

I am using Inquisit 6 and the task Mathematical Processing Task.

I want to remove the training intro, training blocks and training trial from the coding. Is there a way to remove the practice/ training and have the task remain on its own?

Thank you.

There is no need to remove these things. You simply ought to not run them. To do so, you can simply change the <expt> elements from

<expt low>
/groups = (1 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =lowdemandintro]
</expt>

<expt moderate>
/groups = (2 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =moderatedemandintro]
</expt>

<expt high>
/groups = (3 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =highdemandintro]
</expt>

to

<expt low>
/groups = (1 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =lowdemand]
</expt>

<expt moderate>
/groups = (2 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =moderatedemand]
</expt>

<expt high>
/groups = (3 of 3)
/preinstructions = (intro)
/postinstructions = (end)
/blocks = [1 =highdemand]
</expt>

which will not run any intro or training blocks.

Thank you kindly