Millisecond Forums

single target IAT (another poor fool who is confused about d scores)

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic5062.aspx

By dan finkel - 10/24/2010

Hi,

I have browsed the forums in great depth looking for the knowledge I seek regarding d scores, so please rest assured that I made sure this question wasn't answered elsewhere before I posted (I think)...

I am running an edited version of the single target IAT template posted on the website, with the only major change to the script being a shift from 8 to 4 items.  I am a total IAT newbie - though after browsing these forum posts I now understand what the D score is, how is computed etc.  My understanding is that the column labeled "expressions.d" should be reporting a total D score for each participant - I can't find it!  I see d scores for each target/attribute, but no big daddy grand master D (though it is reported to each participant on the screen after they finish the task).  could you please help me figure out where this D is being recorded in the .dat file?  here is my script for your perusal...

thanks,

dan

By Dave - 10/24/2010

Heya,

How about you also post one of your data files and also tell us which Inquisit version you're using?

~Dave

By dan finkel - 10/24/2010

Sure - and thanks for quick response:

using inquisit 3.0.4.0, and here is a data file

kept browsing and found possible solution (haven't tried it yet, but anyway) - could it be that i could just remove the following

/recorddata = false

from within the "summary" block?

thanks again,

dan

By Dave - 10/25/2010

Well, the data file you posted clearly contains a record of big ol' D, so I'm a bit confused now. It's the rightmost column labeled 'expressions.d' (how unoriginal; also see http://www.millisecond.com/forums/Topic3444.aspx). Maybe open your data file in a spreadsheet app (e.g. Excel) to see the columns properly separated?

~Dave

By dan finkel - 10/25/2010