IAT with only pictures and not words

Author
niny
Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)Partner Member (630 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi, 

I'm new in the inquisit use. I am wondering if a IAT can be used with only pictures, I mean in the test can we replace the target concept by a picture :  a picture associated to other picture and not a word? Did you see this practice before and would you have a contact name?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Niny

Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
Programming-wise you can set this up by using any of the Picture IAT scripts as a starting point. All you need to do is change the attribute <text> elements to <picture> elements. From a theoretical perspective, I struggle with the idea -- what exactly is this supposed to measure? To construct an extreme example: Consider the prototypical Flowers vs Insects IAT. Your target categories are represented by pictures of flowers and insects respectively. What kinds of pictures would represent your attribute categories (good vs bad)? Arguably, most people find flowers pretty and hence 'good', while they find insects ugly and hence 'bad'. This end you up in the absurd situation where you test whether pictures of flowers (target) are more easily associated with pictures of flowers (attribute) than with pictures of insects.
Edited 10 Years Ago by Dave
niny
niny