Randomly assigning participants

Author
dinghu
Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)Associate Member (62 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I am a novice to Inquisit and I am trying to code an experiment in which participants are first randomly assigned to one of two possible groups, and then further randomly assigned to one of 3 groups within the parent group. I am not sure how to accomplish that. Currently, the code I have written is just for the child group, seen below. I am not sure how to layer this into a parent group, and I'm not even sure if I am approaching this correctly in the first place. I am planning to run this through Inquisit Web using a participant pool from Prolific, if that makes a difference! Thank you in advance for any help.

<variables>
/ group = (1 of 3) (firstblock=data_50, secondblock=data_500, thirdblock=data_10000)
/ group = (2 of 3) (firstblock=data_500, secondblock=data_10000, thirdblock=data_50)
/ group = (3 of 3) (firstblock=data_10000, secondblock=data_50, thirdblock=data_500)
</variables>
Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
dinghu - 3/22/2024