timed free-writing task

Author
michele
Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)Respected Member (485 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello--
I'm trying to figure out how to design an openended response widow that will allow particpants to write creatively for ten minutes, and ten minutes only, with the next measure appearing automatically after the ten minute interval.
So far, I have been able to set the duration of the response window using Trialduration or Timeout, however the problem is that the words that have been typed into the window are not recorded by Inquisit.
So, is there any way for the repsonse window to be time-controlled AND data safely recorded with no ENTER response from the participant?
I'm a grad student working on my first script, so I'm hoping that I can draw on the collective experience of others in solving this puzzle.
Any pointers will be greatly appreciated. THANKS! [:)]

Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
Hi Michele,

several months ago we've been trying to do a similar thing at our lab. Sadly, there's no straightforward way to do this in Inquisit (as far as I know). The openended answers will only be recorded if there's some kind of "enter" response by the participants. However, I've come up with a way to provide participants with information about the elapsed time, so that they can finish and enter their response before the task times out. If you email me I'll be happy to provide you with the script.

Cheers!
~Dave

Jacob Anthony
Jacob Anthony