stimulus timing -- continue after response

Author
sdubrow
Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (4.8K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello,

I'm new to Inquisit and had a question about how to keep a stimulus up for a fixed period of time while still collecting a response.

What I need is to display a sequence of images, each image for exactly 1500ms and a 500ms black interstimulus interval. At the end of the block I need to display performance feedback.

I understand setting validresponse to noresponse will prevent it from moving forward when a response is made. What I'm wondering is whether there is a way to do this such that I can still collect the response to evaluate accuracy on the fly. I played around with setting the picture erase to false but that seems to interfere with the ability to have a blank posttrial interstimulus interval. 

Any help would be much appreciated. 
Tags
Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
You can do something along the lines of

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1-8 = noreplace(vowel, consonant)]
</block>

<trial vowel>
/ stimulustimes = [0=vowel; 1500=blank; 2000=blank]
/ validresponse = ("v", "c")
/ correctresponse = ("v")
/ beginresponsetime = 0
/ responseinterrupt = frames
/ trialduration = 2000
</trial>

<trial consonant>
/ stimulustimes = [0=consonant; 1500=blank; 2000=blank]
/ validresponse = ("v", "c")
/ correctresponse = ("c")
/ beginresponsetime = 0
/ responseinterrupt = frames